poplabargains.blogg.se

Licensing backup exec
Licensing backup exec







  1. Licensing backup exec install#
  2. Licensing backup exec full#
  3. Licensing backup exec trial#

Licensing backup exec install#

This install backs up only the VM's, the hosts are not backed up. Two physical servers, one of them hosting SBS2011, the other hosting 2x 2012R2 VM's (and also hosting backup exec 2014SBE + tape + backup drives) SBE2014 with no additional agents/licences. I don't think it would have stopped working, but it certainly wasn't happy and presumably to continue with production machines in this way would put you outside of licencing agreements - I don't believe you can licence SBE past 3 servers. I ran up a fourth server VM as a sandbox for something I was doing for a couple of weeks and Backup Exec complained about it. Only one physical server and it hosts 3 VM's. What I have noticed with two different sites running SBE:

Licensing backup exec full#

I never ended up with a full answer myself, despite the best efforts of the Symantec guys here at SW - the local agents and direct sales guys for my locale just don't know the answers to licencing questions and you end up having to 'suck it and see'. If the answer is no, which is my suspicion, then presumably one could still backup at the VHD level utilising the boxed license/agent as ultimately the VM's being hosted are just files and there isn't any restriction on the number or type of files that can be backed up.īe careful here. Specifically, will the boxed version of BE SBE 2014 backup these 3 VM's, including GRT without any need to purchase any additional agent/licence? I've changed the proposed use-case from my original post, its now:ġ host machine which would be the media server (USB HDD), running WS2012R2 and hosting:

Licensing backup exec trial#

am I right to continue my testing with an SBE purchase in mind utilising the trial versions Hyper-v agent? Is this the same agent as that bundled with SBE? which presumably also allows RAWS to be installed on any backed up VMs (?), so. What does this all mean in the SBE context? I've tested this with the trial BE2014 and it appears to work as expected. With standard BE if one wanted to backup several VM's (lets say 3) then you would either choose to buy 3 RAWS licences and run the RAWS agents inside the VMs or one might choose to buy the v-ray edition instead which covers unlimited VM backup (and by default I believe allows a RAWS licence per VM server for GRT purposes).

licensing backup exec licensing backup exec

this implies to me that additional licensing over and above that included in the SBE 2014 box might be required. The problem for me is in the term used 'can be licensed'. Something is still niggling me, it must be my comprehension at fault because I've done a pretty big search and haven't yet come up with an answer from others asking the same question.









Licensing backup exec